.summary-thumbnail, .summary-thumbnail img { width: auto !important; height: 200px !important; }
  • The St. Regis Washington, D.C. (map)
  • 923 16th Street Northwest
  • Washington, DC, 20006
  • United States

The annual AFFIRM Leadership Awards Celebration has recognized outstanding leadership in the Federal Government since 1979.

The AFFIRM Leadership Awards are among the most prestigious of the Federal community, honoring outstanding individual and team leadership from the preceding year. First awarded in 1979, award honorees join a prestigious list of agency executives and managers. Awards are for demonstrated leadership leading to successes in specific categories such as IT Management, Cyber Security, Mobile Technology, Innovation, Cloud Computing, Big Data and related areas. In addition, there are special categories for a Congressional Leadership Award and an Industry Executive Leadership Award.

The schedule for the evening is as follows:

VIP Reception - Invite Only: 5:00pm – 6:00pm
General Reception: 5:30pm – 6:30pm
Awards Presentations: 6:30pm – 8:00pm
Coffee & Dessert Reception and Networking: 8:00pm – 9:00pm


2018 Leadership Awards Winners: 

Executive Leadership in Information Technology (Civilian)
Jeff Shilling, NCI Acting Chief Information Officer and Chief of NCI IT, National Cancer Institute

Executive Leadership Award for Industry - Large Business
Marc Mancher, Principal, Federal Strategy & Operations, Deloitte Consulting LLP

Rockstar Rookie
Harold Whitaker, IT Project Manager, General Services Administration FEDSIM

Leadership Award for Service to the Citizen and the Country
Adriane Burton, Chief Information Officer, Health Resources and Services Administration

Leadership in Technology Innovation - Team
Maria Roat, Chief Information Officer; Guy Cavallo, Deputy Chief Information Officer; and Sanjay Gupta, Chief Technology Officer, U. S. Small Business Administration

Leadership in Technology Innovation - Individual
Michael Torres, Transformation Strategist - Federal HC Service Strategy Architect, Office of Personnel Management

Leadership In Cyber Security
Carlene Ileto, Executive Director, CDM Products and Services Delivery Management Office, Department of Homeland Security

Leadership in Mobile Computing Technology
Robert Kayl, Program Manager, Web & Mobile Technology Solution Delivery Division, Defense Health Agency

Special Recognition -Team
Cyber Innovation Office, Assured Identity, Leading Change with Mobile Assurance and Continuous Multi-Factor Authentication (CMFA), Defense Information Systems Agency

President's Award Public Sector
Dr. Barry C. West, DHS Senior Advisor and Department-wide Senior Accountable Official for Risk Management, U.S.  Department of Homeland Security

President's Award Private Sector
Dan Chenok, Executive Director, IBM Center for The Business of Government

To access the press release announcing the full list of 2018 awardees, click here. If your company is interested in sponsoring the Leadership Awards, click here to download the 2018 Sponsorship Form, and send a completed copy to info@affirm.org by June 21. 

Thank you to our current sponsors!