AFFIRM Contact:
Kristie Clement, Communications Committee


Washington, DC, May 10, 2018 — The Association for Federal Information Resources Management announced the government and industry leaders selected to receive the 39th annual AFFIRM Leadership Awards.

The AFFIRM Leadership Awards are among the most prestigious of the Federal community, honoring individuals and teams for their outstanding leadership over the preceding year. First awarded in 1979, award honorees join a prestigious list of agency executives and managers.

The AFFIRM Leadership Awardees will be recognized and honored on Thursday, June 28, 2018 at the AFFIRM Annual Leadership Celebration, an after work reception from 6:00pm to 8:30pm, in the St. Regis Washington, DC. 

Award winners include:

Executive Leadership in Information Technology (Civilian)

Jeff Shilling, NCI Acting Chief Information Officer and Chief of NCI IT, National Cancer Institute

Executive Leadership Award for Industry - Large Business

Marc Mancher, Principal, Federal Strategy & Operations, Deloitte Consulting LLP

Rockstar Rookie

Harold Whitaker, IT Project Manager, Homeland Group, U.S. General Services Administration FEDSIM

Leadership Award for Service to the Citizen and the Country

Adriane Burton, Chief Information Officer, Health Resources and Services Administration

Leadership in Technology Innovation - Team

Maria Roat, Chief Information Officer; Guy Cavallo, Deputy Chief Information Officer; and Sanjay Gupta, Chief Technology Officer, U. S. Small Business Administration

Leadership in Technology Innovation - Individual

Michael Torres, Transformation Strategist - Federal HC Service Strategy Architect, Office of Personnel Management

Leadership In Cyber Security

Carlene Ileto, Executive Director, CDM Products and Services Delivery Management Office; U.S. Department of Homeland Security

Leadership in Mobile Computing Technology

Robert Kayl, Program Manager, Web & Mobile Technology, Solution Delivery Division, Defense Health Agency

Special Recognition -Team

Cyber Innovation Office at Defense Information Systems Agency (DISA), Assured Identity, Leading Change with Mobile Assurance and Continuous Multi-Factor Authentication (CMFA), Defense Information Systems Agency

President's Award Public Sector

Dr. Barry C. West, DHS Senior Advisor and Department-wide Senior Accountable Official for Risk Management, U.S.  Department of Homeland Security

President's Award Private Sector

Dan Chenok, Executive Director, IBM Center for The Business of Government

To attend the AFFIRM Leadership Awards Celebration visit

The Association for Federal Information Resources Management (AFFIRM) is a non-profit, volunteer, educational organization whose overall purpose is to improve the management of information, and related systems and resources, within the Federal government. Founded in 1979, and based in the Washington, DC area, AFFIRM's members include information resource management professionals from the Federal, academic, and industry sectors. 

To download this press release, click here